Born of the Spirit


~John 3:6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.

What a simple sentence spoken by Jesus here. Yet, here Jesus was speaking to a Jewish religious leader, a Pharisee. It shows that even those who appear to have all the truth and answers must be given a simple message. The message was so simple that even a child could understand it.

~Luke 18:17 Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child shall in no wise enter therein.

Jesus knew that it would take child-like faith for Nicodemus to be saved. Nicodemus would have to let go of all the religious knowledge he had crammed in his brain. He would have to let go of everything he had been taught and rely on this simple message to speak to his heart. All the laws and rules Nicodemus had learned would have to be set aside and he would have to rely on the Word of God to speak to his heart.

It is not rocket science … flesh begets flesh … dogs have puppies, cats have kittens, and humans have babies. But, if we accept the simple plan of salvation, we receive the Holy Spirit and are now born of the Spirit. It really is not difficult at all when God reveals the truth to your heart.

~John 1:14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

Dear God…
I pray that I will never be
So heavenly minded yet blind.
Open my eyes with Your Truth.
Remove those chains that bind!

© Kate Plourde 2009

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Catholicism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Born of the Spirit

  1. Jerry Bouey says:

    Sis Kate, I have a suggestion that I hope you will consider: Can you add the Archives to your list of links on the side, please? I like to systematically work my way through blogs – especially when I am first checking them out (though I am not doing that here obviously), and like to read through from the oldest posts to the present. I can do that through the archives – find the oldest month and start reading through them, until I get to the present. That way I end up reading the whole blog eventually (or at least see every post, even if I choose to skim over some). I tried using the Calendar at the side to do that – but you have to go back one month at a time, and when someone has had their blog for a year or two, it takes a lot of time to do that (the other day my computer actually froze before I got to the beginning, so I am not sure when this blog actually started).

    Of course, I won’t be offended if you choose not to do this – I just ask that you consider it. When you first starting posting on all the different themes, I got so far behind in reading your blog, and now that I want to systematically catch up, I am having a difficult time doing so. Thanks.

  2. Kate says:

    Ask and ye shall receive 😉 Good idea, by the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

