Psalm 23 According to Me


~Psalm 23:1 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

As a shepherd provides the sheep’s food, water, shelter and all of its needs, so will our Shepherd provide all that we need. We will never lack anything that is necessary for us.

~Psalm 23:2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

As the shepherd knows when his sheep need to rest or they need water, so does our Sheperd know our needs. He not only will see to it that we get peaceful rest in His Word, but He will provide that water and food from His Word.

~Psalm 23:3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Our Shepherd promises to restore our spirits when we am spiritually weary. When rough days and dark clouds loom in the distance, we can rest in His promise that He will carry us through it all. Because we are His, He will lead us as we seek to be more like Him. When we diligently seek Him in our day, He promises to make the path clear so we can reflect His righteousness in our walk.

~Psalm 23:4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Our Shepherd not only promises to be with us when we are close to death, but He is there during the whole path leading to death. We will not fear this cancer trial because He is there right beside us. As the shepherd guides his flock with his staff and disciplines the wayward sheep with his rod, so our Shepherd guides us with His Word. He chastises us with His rod when we refuse to walk down the righteous path. All that our Shepherd does is for our good and for our benefit. It is His guidance and direction that cause us to be more like Him.

~Psalm 23:5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Our Shepherd has everything under control. We lack nothing – in fact, we have everything that is necessary in my life. We are truly blessed beyond measure.

~Psalm 23:6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

The born-again child of God receives God’s goodness and His mercy and a sound promise to dwell with Him for ever! Glory!

No matter how many times we read this Psalm, each time brings a fresh new blessing from the God of Glory!

© Kate Plourde 2009

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Inspirational Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

