When Your Heart is Heavy …


As the caregiver to one who has cancer, it can be quite overwhelming. Granted, we are not the one who feels the pain of the treatments. We are not the one who lives in the body that is wearing down due to the treatments. But we are the one whose heart is breaking at the sight of our beloved. We see what once was a vibrant and strong human being turn into a fragile one. My beloved is my rock of Gibraltar – I am awakened, if you will, to his human-ness. Does that make sense? I would give anything to take this trial from him and go through it myself.

I don’t know how people go through a trial such as this without the Lord. I once thought I knew God, however I did not have that intimate relationship with Him. I knew OF God, but I really did not know Him. After I accepted Christ as my Saviour, I had a relationship with God. I am now a child of the King and He is now my intimate Father. He pities me – He covers me and keeps me close – He wraps His arms around me – no, not in real life but through His Word. I find comfort each time I open my Bible and I am able to hear from my Heavenly Father who encourages my spirit.

~Psalm 119:28 My soul melteth for heaviness: strengthen thou me according unto thy word.

This is the difference between someone who professes to know Christ and the one who truly possesses salvation. We have an intimate relationship with God – it’s not something that is mustered up with a feeling but it is a genuine relationship that brings peace and comfort. I am thankful this day that I can run to my Father and know that He loves me, cares for me and will carry me through each trial!

© Kate Plourde 2009

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Inspirational Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

