Prayers to Mary


One of my catholic readers wrote to me and told me that catholics do not pray TO the Virgin Mary and that I could not prove that they do. Although a previous blog post covered this topic, I thought I would let you readers determine for yourself whether the catholics do or don’t pray TO Mary. These are but a few.

But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret; and thy Father which seeth in secret shall reward thee openly. ~Matthew 6:6

Thinkest thou that I cannot now pray to my Father, and he shall presently give me more than twelve legions of angels? ~Matthew 26:53

After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. ~Matthew 6:9

And he said unto them, When ye pray, say, Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth. ~Luke 11:2

No where did Christ tell us to pray to anyone else but the Father. But yet the catholic prayers below leave no doubt to the reader that they pray TO Mary.

No one deserves our prayers, worship and admiration than God. No where did any of the people in the Bible pray to anyone other than to God Himself. Just in Psalms alone, David made it clear that he prayed right to the Source – he did not have to go through Abraham, Moses or any of the early fathers of the faith.

My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up. ~Psalm 5:3

Hear my prayer, O LORD, and give ear unto my cry; hold not thy peace at my tears: for I am a stranger with thee, and a sojourner, as all my fathers were. ~Psalm 39:12

O thou that hearest prayer, unto thee shall all flesh come. ~Psalm 65:2

But as for me, my prayer is unto thee, O LORD, in an acceptable time: O God, in the multitude of thy mercy hear me, in the truth of thy salvation. ~Psalm 69:13

Let my prayer come before thee: incline thine ear unto my cry; ~Psalm 88:2

But unto thee have I cried, O LORD; and in the morning shall my prayer prevent thee. ~Psalm 88:13

Hear my prayer, O LORD, and let my cry come unto thee. ~Psalm 102:1

But yet read a few of the prayers that catholics pray TO Mary. How can the catholic reader I spoke of say that they do not pray TO Mary?


THE HAIL MARY

Hail Mary full of Grace, the Lord is with Thee. Blessed are Thou amongst women and blessed is the fruit of Thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God; pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.


HAIL, HOLY QUEEN

Hail, Holy Queen, Mother of Mercy! our life, our sweetness and our hope! To thee do we cry, poor banished children of Eve; to thee do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears. Turn then, most gracious advocate, thine eyes of mercy toward us, and after this our exile, show unto us the blessed fruit of thy womb, Jesus. O clement, O loving, O sweet Virgin Mary!


My Queen, My Mother

My Queen, My Mother, I offer myself entirely to Thee. And to show my devotion to Thee, I offer Thee this day, my eyes, my ears, my mouth, my heart, my whole being without reserve. Wherefore, good Mother, as I am thine own, keep me, guard me as Thy property and possession. Amen


The Angelus

The angel of the Lord declared unto Mary. And she conceived of the Holy Ghost. Hail Mary, …
Behold the handmaid of the Lord. Be it done unto me according to Thy word. Hail Mary, …
And the Word was made Flesh. And dwelt among us. Hail Mary, …
Pray for us, O holy Mother of God. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.


The Memorare

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to your protection, implored your help or sought your intercession, was left unaided. Inspired by this confidence, I fly unto you, O Virgin of virgins, my Mother. To you I come, before you I stand, sinful and sorrowful. O Mother of the Word incarnate, despise not my petitions, but, in your mercy, hear and answer me. Amen.


Regina Coeli (Caeli)
Queen of Heaven

O, queen of heaven, rejoice! Alleluia. For He whom thou didst merit to bear, Alleluia, Hath arisen as He said, Alleluia. Pray for us to God, Alleluia. Rejoice and be glad, O Virgin Mary. Alleluia. For the Lord hath risen indeed. Alleluia. Oremus


Prayer to the Virgin Mary for Assistance

O, most beautiful flower of Mount Carmel, Fruit of the Vine, splendorous of Heaven. Blessed Mother of the Son of God, Immaculate Virgin, assist me in this my necessity. O, Star of the Sea, help me and show herein you are my mother. O, Holy Mary, Mother of God, Queen of Heaven and earth, I humbly beseech you from the bottom of my heart to succour me in my necessity. There are none that can withstand your power, O, show me here you are my mother. O, Mary, conceived without sin, pray for us who have recourse to Thee. Sweet Mother, I place this cause in your hands. Amen.

Then Peter and the other apostles answered and said, We ought to obey God rather than men. ~Acts 5:29

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prayers to Mary

  1. redhotrabbit says:

    Hi. I’ve been reading your blog, & others like it, with great interest. It’s because of characters like you that I’m always forced to keep on doing my homework as a Catholic. Please keep them coming. I enjoy your writing about as much as I disagree with you, which is quite a significant compliment

  2. Kate says:

    It is a blessing to me to have readers stop by to leave negative comments because they defend catholicism. What is sad, however, is that the average catholic won’t take the challenge to read their bibles to make sure that what they are taught is scriptural. I am glad that you stopped by and I will be praying that the Jesus, Light of the world, will illumine and open your eyes.

  3. linda says:

    I pray that Catholics everywhere will read this blog and be driven to the Bible and turn away from anything is not supported by the Bible. There is no reason to pray to anyone but Jesus Christ. He alone is our Mediator. In my Bible reading this morning in John 20. The first time Mary sees Jesus after the resurrection she calls Him “Master”. She was in the upper room in Acts because she,like us, needed a Savior (Luke 1:47) No where in scripture are we told to speak to her in anyway.

  4. Felipe says:

    I am a Catholic and was born and raised as a Catholic from the Philippines, one of thelargest Catholic nations of the world. I agree with our sisters, Linda and Kate. I have been attending a different evangelical church now for about 3 years. We need to check the basis of our faith — are we accepting the Catholic dogmas and traditions over what the Bible teaches? Catholics are taught that its traditions and the Holy Scriptures should be the basis of its faith — contrary to most Evangelical Christians where Bible alone is the authority that must be followed.
    Most Catholics do not know the way to God and if asked if they are going to heaven — the usual answers are “I hope”.. or “I think I have done more good that bad…”. Brothers and Sisters, please check the Word Of God, the Bible, and your eyes will be opened to the Truth – that there is only ONE mediator between God and man, Christ Jesus (not Mary or the Saints).

  5. onlinemommy says:

    Hi Kate,

    Great article! I never thought that someone would come up with this kind of blogging. I sincerely hope that many people will be able to read your article and be enlightened.

    God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

