Why is the Bible So Important?


~1 Kings 17:24 And the woman said to Elijah, Now by this I know that thou art a man of God, and that the word of the LORD in thy mouth is truth.

What does the catholic church do with its former popes who did not abide in truth?

~Psalm 33:4 For the word of the LORD is right; and all his works are done in truth.

If God’s Word is right and all His works are done in truth, there would be no additions or need for change as the catholic church has done with its dogmas, traditions and magisterium.

~Psa 138:2 I will worship toward thy holy temple, and praise thy name for thy lovingkindness and for thy truth: for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name.

If God magnifies His word even above His name, why would He allow anything to come ahead or equal to His word?

~John 1:14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

It is Jesus and His Gospel that is Truth. He would not change it, add to it or take away from it because it would no longer be truth!

~John 17:17) Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

It is not traditions or magisterium that are truth but God’s Holy Word is Truth!

~2 Corinthians 4:2 But have renounced the hidden things of dishonesty, not walking in craftiness, nor handling the word of God deceitfully; but by manifestation of the truth commending ourselves to every man’s conscience in the sight of God.

Allowing traditions and magisterium to be equal to Scripture is handling the word of God deceitfully. The previous verse says that God’s word is truth – nothing else.

~Eph 1:13 In whom ye also trusted, after that ye heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation: in whom also after that ye believed, ye were sealed with that holy Spirit of promise,

and

~Col 1:5 For the hope which is laid up for you in heaven, whereof ye heard before in the word of the truth of the gospel;

and

~1 Thessalonians 2:13 For this cause also thank we God without ceasing, because, when ye received the word of God which ye heard of us, ye received it not as the word of men, but as it is in truth, the word of God, which effectually worketh also in you that believe.

Is it any wonder that the catholic church adds tradition and magisterium to be equal to the Word of God? It is because they do not want the dear catholic to find true salvation. Salvation outside the Word of God is not the truth!

~2 Timothy 2:15 Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

Is it any wonder that the catholic church fills its members heads full of catholic history so their minds are pre-occupied with catholic history instead of Bible?

I pray these verses will speak to the heart of a dear catholic today!

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Scriptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why is the Bible So Important?

  1. Manny says:

    Where in the Bible does it say that the Bible — and only the Bible — is to be the only source of Christian doctrine? There is no verse anywhere in the Bible that makes this claim. Such an idea (also known as “sola scriptura”) is itself highly unbiblical.

  2. Kate says:

    Do man’s words keep you from sin? The Bible does: (Psa 119:11) Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

    Do man’s words expose man’s sinful nature? The Word does. (1Sa 15:23) For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the LORD, he hath also rejected thee from being king.

    The Bible must be interpreted in the light of the Bible itself and not by what man’s traditions are: (2Th 2:15) Therefore, brethren, stand fast, and hold the traditions which ye have been taught, whether by word, or our epistle.

    (2Th 3:14) And if any man obey not our word by this epistle, note that man, and have no company with him, that he may be ashamed.

    Do man’s words make your sinful life good? The Word does. Do man’s words and traditions bring a person to perfection? The Word does. (2Ti 3:16) All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

    (2Ti 3:17) That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

    The Apostle Peter said that the Bible is more reliable than that which he had seen and heard with his own eyes and ears.
    (2Pe 1:16) For we have not followed cunningly devised fables, when we made known unto you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but were eyewitnesses of his majesty.

    (2Pe 1:17) For he received from God the Father honour and glory, when there came such a voice to him from the excellent glory, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.

    (2Pe 1:18) And this voice which came from heaven we heard, when we were with him in the holy mount.

    (2Pe 1:19) We have also a more sure word of prophecy; whereunto ye do well that ye take heed, as unto a light that shineth in a dark place, until the day dawn, and the day star arise in your hearts:

    (2Pe 1:20) Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation.

    (2Pe 1:21) For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.

    If the Bible is more reliable than what Peter had seen and heard, it is also more reliable than any tradition which contradicts it.

    Can man interpret the Bible for himself? The Apostle Paul said we could.

    (Act 17:11) These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.

    Will God judge mankind by man’s words or His? We will be judged by what is written in the Bible, not by what any church held as truth.

    (Rev 20:12) And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works.

    Does God uphold a church more than His own word? (Psa 138:2) I will worship toward thy holy temple, and praise thy name for thy lovingkindness and for thy truth: for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name.

    If God considers His own word above Himself, why would He make the catholic church above His word? This is contrary to what the Word says.

    Beware, oh catholic, to add or take away from his word! Do not be deceived! (2Ti 3:13) But evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse, deceiving, and being deceived.

    (2Ti 3:14) But continue thou in the things which thou hast learned and hast been assured of, knowing of whom thou hast learned them;

    (2Ti 3:15) And that from a child thou hast known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.

    (2Ti 3:16) All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

    (2Ti 3:17) That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

    Your church would have you to believe that tradition and magisterium is equal to the Scriptures but no where does God reveal that this is so. He holds His Word above Himself – He does not lie!

  3. Maddog says:

    You haven’t answered my question. Where in the Bible does it say that the Bible — and only the Bible — is to be the only source of Christian doctrine?

    If the Bible doesn’t say that, and your church does, then you are adding tot he Word of God. Which is exactly what you accuse other churches of doing.

  4. Kate says:

    Let the Word speak for itself, Maddog.

    (Psa 119:9) BETH. Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word. It’s the WORD that cleanses our hearts!

    (Psa 119:11) Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee. The WORD prevents us from sinning.

    (Psa 119:16) I will delight myself in thy statutes: I will not forget thy word.

    (Psa 119:17) GIMEL. Deal bountifully with thy servant, that I may live, and keep thy word.

    (Psa 119:25) DALETH. My soul cleaveth unto the dust: quicken thou me according to thy word. The WORD quickens us – it makes us alive.

    (Psa 119:28 ) My soul melteth for heaviness: strengthen thou me according unto thy word. The WORD strengthens our spirit.

    (Psa 119:38 ) Stablish thy word unto thy servant, who is devoted to thy fear.

    (Psa 119:41) VAU. Let thy mercies come also unto me, O LORD, even thy salvation, according to thy word. The WORD brings salvation. Is it any wonder that the world’s religions are so diligent in keeping man from it?

    (Psa 119:42) So shall I have wherewith to answer him that reproacheth me: for I trust in thy word. It is with the WORD that we can answer those who bring contempt toward us.

    (Psa 119:50) This is my comfort in my affliction: for thy word hath quickened me.

    (Psa 119:58 ) I intreated thy favour with my whole heart: be merciful unto me according to thy word.

    (Psa 119:65) TETH. Thou hast dealt well with thy servant, O LORD, according unto thy word. God brings conviction and deals with us through His WORD.

    (Psa 119:67) Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word.

    (Psa 119:74) They that fear thee will be glad when they see me; because I have hoped in thy word.

    (Psa 119:76) Let, I pray thee, thy merciful kindness be for my comfort, according to thy word unto thy servant.

    (Psa 119:81) CAPH. My soul fainteth for thy salvation: but I hope in thy word.

    (Psa 119:82) Mine eyes fail for thy word, saying, When wilt thou comfort me?

    (Psa 119:89) LAMED. For ever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven. God’s WORD is forever SETTLED in Heaven!

    (Psa 119:101) I have refrained my feet from every evil way, that I might keep thy word. The WORD keeps us from sin!

    (Psa 119:105) NUN. thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path. The WORD guides us in life.

    (Psa 119:107) I am afflicted very much: quicken me, O LORD, according unto thy word.

    (Psa 119:114) Thou art my hiding place and my shield: I hope in thy word. The WORD brings us hope, comfort and is our shield in dealing with skeptics like yourself.

    (Psa 119:116) Uphold me according unto thy word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope.

    (Psa 119:133) Order my steps in thy word: and let not any iniquity have dominion over me. The WORD keeps us from sin when we submit to it!

    (Psa 119:140) thy word is very pure: therefore thy servant loveth it. The WORD is pure – not man’s words!

    (Psa 119:147) I prevented the dawning of the morning, and cried: I hoped in thy word.

    (Psa 119:148 ) Mine eyes prevent the night watches, that I might meditate in thy word.

    (Psa 119:154) Plead my cause, and deliver me: quicken me according to thy word.

    (Psa 119:158 ) I beheld the transgressors, and was grieved; because they kept not thy word.

    (Psa 119:160) Thy word is true from the beginning: and every one of thy righteous judgments endureth for ever. God’s WORD is TRUE from the beginning and they endure forever!

    (Psa 119:161) SCHIN. Princes have persecuted me without a cause: but my heart standeth in awe of thy word.

    (Psa 119:162) I rejoice at thy word, as one that findeth great spoil. David cherished God’s WORD so much it was like finding a treasure!

    (Psa 119:169) TAU. Let my cry come near before thee, O LORD: give me understanding according to thy word. God gives us understanding of HIS WORD.

    (Psa 119:170) Let my supplication come before thee: deliver me according to thy word.

    (Psa 119:172) My tongue shall speak of thy word: for all thy commandments are righteousness.

    (Psa 138:2) I will worship toward thy holy temple, and praise thy name for thy lovingkindness and for thy truth: for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name. God sets His WORD above His own Name!!!!!!! THAT speaks volumes!

    (Jer 15:16) Thy words were found, and I did eat them; and thy word was unto me the joy and rejoicing of mine heart: for I am called by thy name, O LORD God of hosts.

    (Joh 17:6) I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word. Jesus spoke of keeping God’s WORD!

    (Joh 17:14) I have given them thy word; and the world hath hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. Jesus gave His disciples God’s WORD and the world HATED them – just as you despise those Christians who hold God’s WORD above man’s!

    Jesus said: (Joh 17:17) Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth. Jesus said prayed to the Father asking Him to set His disciples apart from the world BY HIS WORD because God’s WORD IS TRUTH! One cannot be sanctified (set apart from the world) unless one is IN THE WORD!

    (Act 4:29) And now, Lord, behold their threatenings: and grant unto thy servants, that with all boldness they may speak thy word,

  5. Maddog says:

    Kindly go through ALL of the verses you have cited. Not a single one of them states that the Bible — and only the Bible — is to be the only source of Christian doctrine. Not a single one.

    So by trying not to answer my question, you have unwittingly done so: You have shown that your claim is NOT supported by the Bibnle itself, and is therefore unscriptural.

  6. Kate says:

    (Mat 4:4) But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.

    (Luk 4:4) And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.

    Yes, it is THAT important. God’s Word IS the Bible. God’s Words are recorded in a Book – the Bible. Every man is a liar – but God is not! ~Numbers 23:19 God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?

    It’s OK if you don’t believe – but you will be held accountable for obeying man rather than God.

  7. Ray says:

    Hey maddog, i know this conversation was quite a while ago and i also saw they were not directly answering your question,However i agree with them and am thoroughly impressed with their quotes.
    What i will say is this-if what a man says lines up with the Word of God it is inspired whether it quoted or not. I am not the most educated about Catholicism but i question where god appointed a pope? Jesus sent out the disciples to make more disciples and believers. from what i know people believe Peter visited Rome and established a church their. (forgive my blatancy) Jesus said to Peter ‘this is the Rock on which i will build my church” i would rather not get into an argument on what this means but i will ask how does this raise his status? or holines?? or closeness to God?? or anything else for that matter. Jesus said what he meant and didnt beat around the bush. if Catholocisms basis for having a Pope is this, I am thoroughly confused. i have met some great catholic people and have nothing against them. I pray that Truth would find those who seek it, and that all may seek it. God bless.

Leave a Reply

