Names of Jesus – Day 4 – Author


I dare say that everyone who looks at the picture of this famous author would know who he was… am I correct? His writings and plays are so famous that they live on today in their original forms. Historians love the old English and dare not disturb or change any of Mr. Shakespeare’s words because they are reminiscent of the age. To change his words and copyright it as our own would be unthinkable! No one would dare to corrupt such a work by such a grand master of words!

Yet, the good old King James Bible is in the same old English and had been known for centuries as the Word of God. Jesus Christ, the Word of God, is the Author of our faith, my friend. The very words of this Author were penned through this inspiration of the Holy Spirit and put into book form for us.

I absolutely love the fact that God used the word author to describe Himself here! As an author myself, I know my writings inside out. I can recognize my poems and my devotionals because I wrote them. I know when they have been changed in some way because I am their creator and I know my creations! I have written these things to explain what is in the deepest part of my heart. I have written these things because I absolutely love words and putting them into reading form that expresses exactly what is on my mind in an understandable manner brings me great pleasure. I try to write so that the reader is not mistaken as to what is my point. I don’t like it when someone comes along and steals my work and changes it or claims it as their own!

The fact that the Lord God chose the word author shows me that the Master Writer of all time, the Perfect and Omniscient God, has written to us to convey a message to us. He is perfect and His word is perfect. The fact that there are only three verses in the Bible that contain the word author is awesome! The number three in the Bible represents the Godhead. What kind of Author is the Lord?

1. He is the author of peace! (1 Cor. 14:33) For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.There is no confusion – no deviation – no changing with God. If His words were to change, that would bring confusion to the church. That is why it is impossible to believe that the catholic church is the one and only true church because they have added to the Scriptures with their traditions and magisterium. Just look at the dogma of Mariology! Nor would God be a promoter of compromise amongst the different “faiths” in the world.

2. He is the author of eternal salvation to those who accept Him as Saviour: (Heb 5:9) And being made perfect, he became the author of eternal salvation unto all them that obey him; Notice that our salvation is secure in Christ. Our salvation begins at the moment we obey Him and accept Him as Saviour. Notice it does not say eternal salvation after we die but right now – at the moment we obey Him! We do not need to do anything to be saved. To obey is better than sacrifice (1 Sam. 15:22) Christ commands that we repent and be saved. (Act 17:30) And the times of this ignorance God winked at; but now commandeth all men every where to repent: It’s one thing to say you’re a Christian and you live like hell. It’s another thing to say you’re a Christian and your life shows that you are saved because you are obedient to His Word.

3. He is the author (and finisher) of our faith: (Heb 12:2) Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God. I love this! Jesus Christ not only is the author of our faith but He finishes our faith! Our faith is complete in Him. We do not have to do anything more to add to it. Just as I know my works intimately, our Author knows His work intimately. He knows us by name – He knows every area of lives – He has started His work in us at the moment of our salvation and will finish His work, through the power of the Holy Spirit, at the moment of our death. We are complete in Him – no one can corrupt His work because we are eternally His and His work is incorruptible! Praise the Lord!

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

