Names of Jesus – Day 2 – Advocate


(1 Jn 2:1) My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous:

The words attorney or lawyer are derived from the word advocate. A defense attorney pleads the cause of his client so that his client can be vindicated. Noah Webster’s 1828 Dictionary defines it well:

AD’VOCATE, n. [L. advocatus, from advoco, to call for, to plead for; of ad and voco, to call. See Vocal.]1. Advocate, in its primary sense, signifies, one who pleads the cause of another in a court of civil law. Hence,2. One who pleads the cause of another before any tribunal or judicial court, as a barrister in the English courts. We say, a man is a learned lawyer and an able advocate.3. One who defends, vindicates, or espouses a cause, by argument; one who is friendly to; as, an advocate for peace, or for the oppressed.

In scripture, Christ is called an advocate for his people.

We have an advocate with the father. 1 John 2.

AD’VOCATE, v.t. To plead in favor of; to defend by argument, before a tribunal; to support or vindicate.

Can you see it now? Ole slew foot is standing before God and accusing the brethren. I see him as the Prosecuting Attorney trying to convince God that we are guilty and we must be punished! But our Defense Attorney, our Advocate, is there as well, pleading our cause, defending the Christian!

There is a big difference between the lawyers of the world and our Great Advocate! Our Advocate is Jesus Christ, the righteous One! Although we are guilty before a Holy God, our Advocate paid our penalty! Our Advocate paid the debt and we are no longer found guilty. Jesus Christ stands before His Father and fights for us against Satan.

I can hear Jesus pleading my case before the Father, “Father, don’t listen to the father of lies, Satan! Kate believes that I paid her sin debt with my very own blood on the cross. Kate has accepted me as her Saviour and my blood now covers her, Father!”

The Father now sees the blood of His Precious Son, Jesus Christ, and Jesus’ blood covers me and the Father’s judgment of burning eternally in the Lake of Fire passes over me! Amen and amen! Praise the Lord!

As a Christian, it is so important for us to understand the different Names of Jesus. God put those different names in His Word to describe Himself to us. The believer who studies the Bible will glean so much and rejoice because he has a better understanding of the God he serves! Defining the various Names of Jesus helps us to see His character and allows us to love Him even more!

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Kate

I'm married to my best friend, John. We have two sons, Aaron (in the Army) and Adam (in the Marines).
This entry was posted in Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Names of Jesus – Day 2 – Advocate

  1. Maxine says:

    Kate, Thanks for your visit to my blog recently. You have a lovely blog here–it is beautifully done and from what I’ve scanned so far, seems to be Biblical. Praise God for that! We need more voices on the internet proclaiming the glories of Christ. I’ll be back when I get a chance and have put your blog in my Favorites folder for IE.

  2. Sis. Julie says:

    Thank God He is my advocate!! I wouldn’t want any other!

  3. Sis. Tammy says:

    Praise the Lord for He is my advocate also, and what makes it even more amazing is that He claims me as well!!

  4. Kate says:

    Maxine, glad you dropped by! It’s always a pleasure to fellowship with other born-again Christians 🙂

    Sis. Julie and Sis. Tammy, I agree so whole heartedly! Praise the Lord! 🙂

Leave a Reply

