Thy Rod and Thy Staff They Comfort Me


Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. (Psa 23:4)

Can we truly say that God’s rod and staff comfort us? The rod was used for discipline at times. I began to meditate on why God’s rod would be a comfort to me. As God’s child, there are many times that I must be corrected. Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child; but the rod of correction shall drive it far from him. (Pro 22:15)

David is quick to add “and thy staff” immediately afterwards. The staff was used as a walking stick – this is a wonderful picture of God’s direction and guidance! David did not insert this in the next sentence but placed it right along with “Thy rod”! Why? God’s correction and chastisement is always followed with direction and love. For his anger endureth but a moment; in his favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning. (Psa 30:5) Can you just picture the Lord as our Shepherd using the rod to discipline us and then using His staff to guide us and direct us back on the right path?

A shepherd using his rod to chastise his sheep into staying with the herd. His staff then guides and directs the sheep in the directon the shepherd wants them to go for their protection. What a beautiful picture of Jesus, our Shepherd!

Our Father in Heaven is the ultimate Father! In a little wrath I hid my face from thee for a moment; but with everlasting kindness will I have mercy on thee, saith the LORD thy Redeemer. (Isa 54:8 )

Father, I welcome thy rod and thy staff in my life. Without Your correction and guidance, I would wander aimlessly. Thank You for Your everlasting kindness and mercy, my Redeemer and King!

The Baptist Muse Topsites The Forums at The Baptist Muse - Independent Fundamental Baptist Articles, Downloads, Forums, Topsites, and Much More! The Fundamental Top 500 The Baptist Top 1000

About Maranatha

Desire to be a testimony for the Lord Jesus Christ and to lead others to Him!
This entry was posted in Bible Studies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thy Rod and Thy Staff They Comfort Me

  1. Sis. Julie says:

    Thank God that He loves us sooooooo much that He would do what is NEEDFUL in our lives to keep us or bring us back to the right track. We as dumb sheep do wander from time to time. But He always comes after His sheep and does what is needed to bring us back where we need to. The important things is to come back early on or the rod becomes bigger and requires more force…if you know what I mean…to get us back. Sometimes He’ll even break our legs so we can’t do anything but look up and see Him..but it is then when He does this that He carries us until we heal from our breaks!! Praise His holy name!!

  2. Bro Tim says:

    I got you site from Mrs Julies website. That is really good I know I don’t like chastisement but I thank God that after he does chastise me that he does get me back on the right path. Good post.

    Bro Tim

Leave a Reply

